Electronic Arts stopped trading on 4 August 2026. Holders took $210 a share in cash, a 25% premium to the unaffected close of $168.32 on 25 September 2025, and a premium to the unaffected all-time high of $179.01 set that August. Every wire filed the same line: largest leveraged buyout in history. That is accurate, and it is the least interesting thing about the deal.
Read off the capital structure rather than the headline, this is not really a sponsor buyout. It is a sovereign acquisition with a leverage sleeve attached. Almost every judgement worth making follows from that distinction.
Who actually owns it
The transaction was announced on 29 September 2025 and consistently described as a Silver Lake-led consortium. Silver Lake originated it and ran it. Silver Lake does not own it.
Of roughly $36bn of equity, PIF supplied the overwhelming majority, rolling over the 9.9% stake in EA it had held for more than five years — worth approximately $5.2bn at the deal price — and funding the rest in cash. Reported post-close ownership is PIF at roughly 93.4%, Silver Lake at roughly 5.5%, and Affinity Partners at roughly 1.1%.
That is the first thing the headline hides. The financial sponsors together hold under 7% of the equity. Deal naming convention follows origination and execution, not economics, and the gap between the two here is about as wide as it gets. When you read commentary about how private equity will run EA, check whose money is actually at risk.
Two thirds equity, and still 6.8x
The funding split is roughly $36bn of equity against about $18bn of debt drawn at close. That is a third of the capital structure in debt. Classic buyouts of the 2006-07 vintage ran at twice that ratio or more. On that measure this is a conservatively funded deal.
On the other measure it is not. Pro forma gross leverage was reported at approximately 6.8x LTM adjusted EBITDA, with net leverage near 6.0x — against a business that carried under 1x and an investment grade profile the day before. Both facts are true at once, and the reason they are both true is the entry price.
Derived, not disclosed: $18bn of debt at a reported 6.8x implies LTM adjusted EBITDA of roughly $2.6bn, which places the $55bn enterprise value near 21x. On those implied figures the equity cheque alone is around 14x EBITDA.
No financial sponsor underwrites 21x on a business growing revenue at 1% and expects the return to come from deleveraging. Either the multiple expands at exit, or the franchises are monetised considerably harder, or the return is not principally financial. PIF has been explicit that entertainment and sport are strategic priorities. The price is consistent with a strategic buyer. It is difficult to reconcile with a purely financial one.
The syndication was the price discovery
The most instructive part of this deal is not the equity. It is the debt, because the debt was the only piece that had to clear an open market.
JPMorgan committed the entire $20bn at signing, alone, on its own balance sheet. For a deal this size that is an extraordinary concentration of underwriting risk, and it left the bank carrying the syndication risk through a volatile first quarter of 2026. It sold a $3.25bn term loan A from late January, largely to Middle Eastern, Asian and smaller European banks, then took the balance to market in March.
The book came in at roughly $45bn, more than twice covered. The final structure funded about $18bn:
All bonds priced at par. Read the direction of travel rather than the totals: the loans were upsized and the bonds were downsized. Demand concentrated in senior, secured, floating-rate paper, and the arranger moved the mix toward where the money was. The 8.75% coupon on the unsecured tranche is where the market put its real price on subordination. That 150bp step from the secured notes to the unsecured is the cleanest read available of what lenders think of the credit.
What EA's cash flow now carries
In the fiscal year ended 31 March 2026, EA reported net revenue of $7.53bn, up 1%, record net bookings of $8.03bn, and operating cash flow of $2.55bn, up 23%. Net income fell 21% to $887m.
That operating cash flow figure is why the financing cleared. Lenders committing $20bn to a single sponsor-backed borrower were underwriting a demonstrated cash statement rather than a forecast, and EA delivered it in the year the deal needed it.
Estimated, not disclosed: blending the priced tranches gives a weighted cash cost in the region of 7% to 7.5%, or roughly $1.3bn to $1.4bn of annual cash interest on $18bn drawn. Against $2.55bn of operating cash flow that is coverage of about 1.8x to 1.9x.
Third-party credit analysis reached the same place, flagging free cash flow to interest compressing below 2x. That is the operative constraint. A business that grew revenue 1% last year now converts a little over half its operating cash flow into interest, and the debt sits on EA, serviced by EA. The sovereign holds the upside. The operating company carries the obligation.
The bond fight that never happened
One detail in the closing 8-K deserves more attention than it received.
EA carried two legacy investment grade tranches: 1.850% notes due 2031 and 2.950% notes due 2051, $750m each. Dropping $18bn of new secured debt on top of them would have structurally subordinated existing holders overnight, and a bondholder group had already organised in March.
At closing the parent ran cash tender offers. Only $68.830m of the 2031s and $7.922m of the 2051s were tendered. The remaining $681.170m and $742.078m were defeased using US government obligations — a Treasury portfolio funded and set aside to meet every remaining payment, discharging the obligations without needing holder consent.
The mechanism is unglamorous and it is the reason there was no fight. Holders who did nothing were made economically whole. The consortium bought a clean capital structure without negotiating for it. If you want one technique from this deal to carry into the next one you read, that is the technique.
The structure worth remembering
The deal took roughly ten months from signature to close. Shareholders approved it on 22 December 2025 with around 99% of votes cast in favour. Regulatory clearance, including CFIUS — the review that drew formal concern from US senators over foreign ownership of a major American publisher — completed by 30 July 2026. Funding followed five days later. Reciprocal $1bn termination fees sat on both sides throughout.
Strip the record away and what remains is a sovereign fund buying a franchise portfolio at a strategic multiple, with a minority sponsor sleeve for execution and roughly a third of the price borrowed against the target's own cash flows.
The headline says leveraged buyout. The cap table says sovereign acquisition. The credit agreement says EA pays for it either way.
What to watch from here: whether the franchises are monetised hard enough to service $18bn without damaging the assets that justified 21x in the first place. That question does not resolve for several years, and every layoff, price change and licence renewal between now and then is a data point on it.


